Scoot Commute

Well, that’s a fine “How do you do?”

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2010/12/15

Grrrrrr…I work on a college campus. Regular readers know that. A campus full of bright, funny, energetic people. People who are committed to lending a hand to the less fortunate. People who make thoughtful decisions about their actions. People who put empty coffee cups into milkcrates on scooters. Grrrrrr.

Last night I came out to find a clear plastic coffee cup, you know the kind with the little bubble top and straw, sitting in the back of the milkcrate on Franz (the Buddy). I have been riding my scoots to campus since I started here over 3 1/2 years ago, parking in the same spot, day in, day out. Thousands of students, faculty, staff and visitors would have walked by my scooters, each adorned with a hefty milkcrate (it’s not really a scooter without a milkcrate), and not once has anyone left anything in said crates. No one has even touched any of the various bungees, which are usually hanging off the back after a quick-draw move to extract whatever I’m carrying that day.

But yesterday was different. Yesterday was a reading day and the stress of finals finally broke someone’s internal “this is wrong” mechanism. I would love to know who it was as I would retaliate, well, that’s much too harsh a word, but I would like to remind said person that it is inappropriate to leave trash on someone’s vehicle. Even all those years in New York of riding a bicycle with a big open basket attached up front, no one left me trash. Notes, yes. Flowers, yes. But trash. Grrrrrrrr.

Leave a Reply

