Scoot Commute

Maxx the F650GS Dakar moves to New York

Posted in Bike Selling, BMW F650GS Dakar (Maxx) by sbahn on 2010/12/11
The Dakar and its new owner

The Dakar and its new owner

We had stopped trying to sell the F650GS as it’s gotten cold here in New England and we weren’t really in a rush. The boyfriend had found his replacement bike, a 1989 Transalp and there was still enough room in the garage. I think the boyfriend may have felt pressure to sell thinking we could use the money (can’t everyone use a little dosh in their pockets especially at Christmastime), and when he received a message from a guy in New York, he followed through. The guy, called Dave, came up to little Providence today with the intention of riding the bike back to its new home in that den of thieves.

My concern was that the new owner has very limited riding experience…BUT, and I’m shocked at this, he actually listened to my more-than-motherly advice when it came to riding home. I thought it made more sense to stick to interstates/major highways where there would be less stop-and-start and less shifting. I said that everyone is going in the same direction at roughly the same speed, with no one pulling out in front of you because they can’t figure out how fast you’re going (or they’re a dipshit).

We led the way to I95 from our house because 1) it was easier for him so he didn’t have to worry about getting lost; and, 2) we’re nice that way. As we were driving down the street, our neighbor Ron (of K100RT fame) was walking around and said he needed to talk to us when we got back. We got on I95 for one exit, getting off at Exit 16 and swinging back around to the house. We were honking and waving as the new owner, who will forever be known as “Dakar Dave” in my mind, went whizzing by. I wish him all the best on the ride home, and for his great adventure next summer riding across the US and following the same route he took as a kid from San Francisco to Seattle. I’m envious, yes!

When we got back to the street, Ron came over and we told him what was up. He said, “Oh, he should ride the highways. It’s much easier.” So I do hope Dakar Dave is taking I95 to the ferry to Orient Point (on Long Island) in New London. I’ve ridden bikes home from purchase, including my beloved DRZ400Sm in February from Massachusetts to Rhode Island, but that was with tens of thousands of miles under my skirt. And that ride was only about 50 miles. I cannot imagine being a new rider and riding 200 miles in December weather. Either he’s an idiot or a genius.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rollie said, on 2010/12/11 at 4:32 pm

    Have I mentioned that the house’s paint job looks nice?

  2. sbahn said, on 2010/12/12 at 6:28 pm

    Thanks Rollie! We still have to select the front door paint color…we’re both thinking ORANGE. As in KTM Oranj!

    • Rollie said, on 2011/01/13 at 6:07 pm

      I think that would look awesome, especially in contrast with the blue!

  3. Antonio Trápaga said, on 2013/05/15 at 1:07 pm

    Hello !

    Don’t know if you’re gonna believe me or not…. but your bike, the f650gs Dakar, is now in GUATEMALA !! (specifically in Quetzaltenango, my city)

    I was searching for pictures, details, and what not on the internet, and the bike came up on the blog….

    took a closer look… and there it was !!

    Can you believe this?

    anyway….

    apparently the bike got into a minor crash, and was up for bid at some auction, etc, etc.

    Cheers !

    email: legal@asociadostrapaga.com

    Antonio Trapaga


Leave a Reply

