Scoot Commute

Buddy goes to Blitzkrieg

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Pleasure Ride by sbahn on 2010/11/28
Franz Biberkopf, my Buddy 150 scooter, on the Blitzkrieg Trail

Franz Biberkopf, my Buddy 150 scooter, on the Blitzkrieg Trail

What better way to spend the day before Thanksgiving than riding around Arcadia Management Area on a 150cc scooter, complete with shopping in the milkcrate?

The best incident on this ride, which was about 100 miles in total, was the idiot who came to a complete stop, even though he had a green light, at the corner of Elmwood and Park Avenues to let someone turn left in front of him. I was immediately behind with no one behind me, and I blasted the Stebel airhorn. I think the guy was so freaked he actually hit the gas and continued along straight. This was the same gold minivan that had to speed up to pass me so he knew I was behind him. It’s a good thing I don’t carry or there would be mayhem in the streets of south Providence.

But then I got down to Arcadia. The silence. The cold. I only saw one person on the entire ride; an older orange-capped hunter getting into his pick-up truck. He gave me a big wave and smile. We both knew why we were where we were—for the silence.

The left-hand Gerbings heated glove conked out on me, yet again, even after I sent the gloves back and had Gerbings check them out. I was a raving lunatic when I got home around 6pm as I pulled my left hand out of the glove; a red, frozen claw. My right hand was comfy warm. I’ve got to call Gerbings again.

Buddy on Breakheart Pond Trail

Buddy on Breakheart Pond Trail

Leave a Reply

