Scoot Commute

Hey there Little Honda

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2010/09/15

Riding to work on Tuesday morning, I see a guy on a bike coming in the other direction on River Ave. It appears to be a small bike because he’s not sitting too tall behind the car in front of him.

As I pull up practically even with him, I look over and what to my surprise do I see…an old skool Honda. I really think it was a CL175. I didn’t get a great look as it happened at a bit of a dangerous part of the commute where there are two parallel streets that go in both directions so there’s lots of turning (Pleasant Valley Parkway for you locals). The tank was green, sort of olive but not the usual Honda olive of the CB350, and the tank had a black pointy swoosh that I’ve seen on vintage Honda Scramblers. But I don’t know if the scramblers came in green. It all happened so fast.

The guy riding had on a pudding bowl and goggles. Who are you?! Did you make my morning…oh yes you did! I felt pathetic on the scoot but he did acknowledge me. I gotta get that CB350 running properly.

Leave a Reply

