Scoot Commute

The Buddy gets new grips

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf) by sbahn on 2010/08/16
The Buddy 150 with super-squishy Pro Grip 714 Dual Sport Rally grips

The Buddy 150 with super-squishy Pro Grip 714 Dual Sport Rally grips

The callus on my right hand has been getting worse throughout the summer and I finally realized its from riding the Buddy with my summer gloves. The stock grips suck on the Bud; they’re hard as steel and got dirty really quickly. Since I’m not one for cleaning my bikes (that’s what rain is for), the grips had gotten really nasty.

Time for new grips, but which ones? Well, that was an easy one to answer! Within a week of getting the DRZ400SM, I put ProGrip 714 Dual Sport grips on her. They’re squishy gel and feel fantastic. They really dampen the vibrations and so far, the black ones haven’t shown any dirt or grime.

I wanted purple ones but Brendan down at Razees couldn’t get that color for me. I could have ordered online, but I try to give my business to a local shop. He could get red, though, and I thought, “hmmm, red. That’ll look pretty cool on the Saint-Tropez. It’ll add more to the French Riviera look.”

Erik worked the original grey grips off (I do sorta help, but I think I was in the way more than anything) through brute force. There is a reason I keep him around. I then cleaned up the stickiness on the bare bar, and he slipped the new red ones on. I took the Buddy for a ride over to Standard to pick up some beverages, and they felt great. I had to take Potters Avenue which is a pothole-laced mess. The new grips took a lot of the feedback out of the bumps. And I’m loving on the red color!

Buddy Saint Tropez with red ProGrip 714 grips

Buddy Saint Tropez with red ProGrip 714 grips

Leave a Reply

