Scoot Commute

Classic Providence

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2010/08/05

Sooooo…last night I’m riding home from work and I come upon my favorite 5-points; that’s right, I’m going to go off on the Eagle Square intersection again. For the love of god, I wished I had my camera.

Here’s the scene:
There are three lanes. The leftmost is “left turn only”. The middle is for “go straight”. The rightmost is “right turn only”. As I approach the intersection from Eagle Street, heading toward Atwells Avenue, I am travelling in the leftmost lane as I need to make a left onto Atwells. There are cars in the middle lane. And there is a police cruiser with its lights on in the rightmost lane with a tow truck in front of it with a smashed up car perched atop the flatbed. At the very front of the leftmost lane is a city RIPTA bus.

I come to a stop as my light is red. The middle and right lane lights are just about to turn red. The bus driver decides he doesn’t want to wait any longer and makes a right turn across two lanes of traffic (the middle and right lanes) onto Atwells Avenue just as traffic is coming to a stop. Amazing. You gotta love the moronic driving in Providence. It never ceases to amaze me. Who needs coffee when there’s the thrill of the commute?

Leave a Reply

