Scoot Commute

“That’s the worst thing to be driving right now.”

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute, Weather by sbahn on 2010/07/19

The title words tumbled from the mouth of an 8-year old boy to his mother as I was pulling on my helmet, getting ready to head over to campus in the rain. What kind of wimpy kids are we raising?! Sure, my riding pants were slung over a chair in my office and I was only wearing linen trousers because I didn’t want to walk into class looking like a robot today, well that and the fact that the sun was shining when I left my office. But how wet was I really going to get? I had a helmet, waterproof jacket, rain covers for my gloves. The Buddy’s leg shield is small; I figured it’d keep most of the water off me.

I got back to my campus and the few sprinkles on my pants were dry within minutes. So seriously little kid, the worst thing? I’d think a Ducati Hypermotard would have been worse, what with no element protection. Although maybe not, as I would have gotten to campus a lot faster than on the 150cc Buddy.

Regardless, we’re raising wimps. Get back into your green minivan or mid-sized sedan and drive to Wal-Mart.

Leave a Reply

