Scoot Commute

I’m sorry Sonia, but I’m in love with James Renazco

Posted in Suzuki DR-Z400SM (Elsa) by sbahn on 2010/07/11
Renazco Seat

Renazco Racing seat for DRZ-400SM

Waaaaay back in February I ordered a custom seat for Elsa, my DRZ-400SM from James Renazco of Renazco Racing. I really had no idea what to expect except that the chatter on the innerwebs said his seats were all that and a packet of Tayto’s on top.

When I first got the DRZ and rode it home 50 miles last February, I realized that all the complaints online about the 2×4 that Suzuki calls a seat were true. Plus I have a bony butt. Not a good combo.

I contacted Renazco and asked if they could make me a seat that was black and PINK(!). I was told to send some samples of the pink I was looking for and they would try to source a closely matched vinyl.

My inspiration was an Elsa Schiaparelli stocking box and hat box. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, you need a good education in all things vintage. This is not the place, but if you know not from real seamed stockings that require a garter, you know nothing of the feminine wiles.

I went to Home Depot and selected three paint chips. I labelled them in order of choice with a Sharpie and sent them off to California. Sometime in March I received a sample of the vinyl. It was haaaawt! Perfect first time.

Bringing my old DRZ-400SM seat to work to ship

My Buddy scooter as my workhorse: bringing my old DRZ-400SM seat to work to ship

Shipping my old DRZ seat to Renazco Racing

Shipping my old DRZ seat to Renazco Racing

My build date was June 21. My Canada trip leave date was June 18. A problem, yes. I acquired an old beat-up DRZ-400E seat for cheap and was going to send that out, as I was under the (false) impression that James built the seats up from the plastic under-core. However, he uses some of the original padding and I decided instead of sending him something that looked like it had been dragged out of a swamp in Mississippi, I would send him my stocker and I would modify the 400E seat.

Nasty old DRZ-400E seat

Nasty old DRZ-400E seat about to be transformed

Making a custom DRZ400SM seat

Foam from Lorraine Fabrics in Pawtucket RI: Making a custom DRZ400SM seat

Homemade DRZ400SM Seat

The Bumblebee Bike: Homemade DRZ400SM Seat

I rode 2,800 miles (that’s 4,500 kilometers since most of the riding was in Canada where they use this odd measuring system called metric) on the modified DRZ-400E seat. And it wasn’t too bad. It wasn’t great, that’s for sure, as my butt was unhappy the first 3 or 4 days. It got to the point, though, that other parts of me hurt more so I no longer felt my bruised tailbones.

My first day back at work and the FedEx tracking email let me know that somewhere on campus my sure to be comfy, black & pink custom Renazco seat was in a box waiting for me. One of the students dropped it off and I tore open the box. Perfect. Beautiful.

I put it on when I got home but didn’t take a ride as the rear brake needs some adjusting (well the whole bike needs a go-through, actually). Erik had a chance today, Sunday, to mess with it. When he was done I took a test run up to the Scituate reservoir and back.

Renazco Seat

Black and Schiaparelli Pink Renazco Racing Seat on Elsa, my DRZ400SM

OH MY GOD! My tiny little butt is the happiest thing in Rhode Island right now. Not only does the seat look freaking amazing, but it’s wider so I can get full support on my tailbone. And it’s hard, but not hard. I was worried it would make the bike too low as I had been reading that the wider seat makes it easier to flat-foot the bike which wasn’t a problem for me (I’m really tall for a girl). But it’s great.

Mr. James Renazco and those who work at Renazco Racing, thank you for a fantastic seat. I cannot wait to get riding the next long trip.

Renazco Seat

Renazco Racing custom black & pink Schiaparelli DRZ400SM seat

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tony said, on 2010/07/16 at 4:24 am

    Seat looks really good. Nice colour choice

  2. Ivan said, on 2012/07/11 at 1:23 pm

    Hi!! Could you share – where did you buy this great all-in-one bag-holder at the end of your motorcycle? What is the manufacturer? Thank you!

    • sbahn said, on 2012/07/19 at 11:50 am

      The rear rack on the DRZ is by TCI Products, made in the USA. They have racks for all kinds of D/S bikes. I vouch by the quality of the work, and the excellent customer service. As I was prepping for my latest trip to West Virginia, I noticed a bolt had come undone and was now lost. Tom sent a new bolt priority mail for free so I could have it in time for my trip.


Leave a Reply

