Scoot Commute

Moto Cop in the Snow

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2010/02/28

What to my surprise did I see on my morning commute on Friday while riding along Smith Street? Why, it was a single headlight headed toward me in the opposite lane as the snow lightly fell. As the bike drew nearer I realized it was a motorcycle cop wearing a half helmet but with a thick, black fleece neck warmer (just like mine, save for the fact mine is pink!). I wanted to wave but thought ‘no, it’s a cop and you’re probably not supposed to take your hand off the grip and wave’. I felt sorta bad because I wanted to acknowledge the insanity of riding in the snow. And I think it was a woman, but I’m not 100% certain. I cannot find any info on the Providence Police website if there are any women motocops.

When I got home that night I did some googling around on the innerwebs and it seems lots of people wave at motocops. In future I will do the same.

The weird thing is I haven’t taken that route to work in months because it takes me on Dean Street, which, at present, is akin to riding a road in Helmand Province (without all the shootings and IEDs, but with the giant potholes and patched, overpatched, and patched again road surface).

Leave a Reply

