Scoot Commute

Canada Countdown: Post Four

Posted in 2010 Canada, Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2010/02/04

My new passport arrived tonight! Escape is near. It arrived in less than a month.

On a completely different note, I got quite a workout wrangling the scooter out of the garage. The tenants had 4 cars parked in the driveway this morning. In order to fit, they parked waaaay, way up, where the first car’s bumper was almost kissing the garage door. The entry into the garage is a ramp that was covered in snow and ice.

I started the scoot inside the garage to warm up as I pulled on my helemt, stowed my bag, and shoved my hands into my delicious heated gloves. I pushed the scoot off the center stand and proceeded to back it out of the garage. I could feel that I was brushing the bumper. I was turning the handlebars back and forth, pushing up and back, trying to shimmy out of the garage. I got into such a tilt that I had to hit the kill switch as the scoot started making a weird noise as it was tilted over so much. At one point I’m using all my strength to hold the scoot up from touching the ground, trying to figure out how to get out of the garage.

I eventually maneuvered out and restarted. There were footprints all over the place outside the garage. Crazy. But I managed it! Ride in and ride home were uneventful. It’s still cold and I’m a bit bored with the below freezing temps. I sometimes feel like I don’t want to leave campus because I have to ride in the cold. Well, that and how swamped I still am.

And this is my 100th post!

Leave a Reply

