Scoot Commute

What’s that wet white stuff falling heavily out of the sky?

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2010/01/28

photos courtesy of paul b

I slept in this morning because I was really tired. Erik left before me, and as I walked out the door and onto the porch, I looked up to the sky and thought, ‘hmmmm, that looks like snow-sky’. Bob Seay’s voice had whispered to me this morning through the radio that there would be snow flurries in the afternoon. As I didn’t have a choice as to what I would use to get to work (again, Erik left before me in my car), I told myself it’s just a few flurries, no problem.

Speed ahead to 11:00 am. Large, sloppy flakes drifted from above and smacked into the ground. I watched it get worse as snow started to stick to the ground, the trees, sidewalks. ‘Well,’ I thought, ‘I can always leave the scoot on campus and get a ride home.’

My private parking spot ... in the snow

By the time I was getting ready to head back home, the snow had stopped and the air warmed a couple of degrees. Walking to the scoot I tested the street and it seemed ok-enough if I took it slowly. It was definitely starting to freeze. I was gearing up and a colleague came up next to me. She asked if I thought it was ok to ride, and I told her I’d go slowly. I then showed her my heated gloves. She looked, smiled and then spoke, “what levels you go to to be crazy.” I laughed and continued to gear up. As I started to leave campus, I stopped to chat with the security guard. My colleague pulled up next to me and said, “Wow, I could see that coat all the way across the lot.” [It was dusk time and it’s grey by default in New England during the winter.] I let out a big guffaw and “I certainly don’t wear this for its style!” The the guard started teasing me (he rides a Rattler) and I said, “ok, enough. I’m outta here.”

Riding home I had one sweet slip on a painted crosswalk (I was being careful Mom!) that was fun. I was stopped at the light at the Armory (at Cranston Street), and as I looked to the left I saw a single headlight coming down the street and make a quick left to pull into the curb in front of the liquor store. It was the purple Honda Elite guy, typically wearing no helmet and a khaki green anorak. I don’t know how he is still alive, between riding around in city camo and buying liquor on Cranston Street.

Hi-Viz 3M reflective tape from Reflectively Yours

Hi-Viz 3M reflective tape from Reflectively Yours

Leave a Reply

