Scoot Commute

Canada Countdown: Post Three

Posted in 2010 Canada by sbahn on 2010/01/17

Spanner in the works, boo hoo! No more CAT ferry from Portland, Maine to Yarmouth, Nova Scotia. We’re going to have to ride up through Maine and into New Brunswick to St. John’s to get the ferry to Digby, NS. I know a lot of people prefer this route, but we’re both going to be on ooooold bikes with all our camping gear (and I’m only going to be running 350 ccs) and neither of us like riding slab (does anybody?). I also know the Maine coast quite well as my dad lives in Bath and I spent every summer vacation in Maine as a kid (usually in Baxter but we would always stop off at a seaside town), so it’s not an adventure to go to Camden yet one more time. I’m trying to figure out a camping stop at a state park the first night. I’m leaning toward Camden Hills State Park or Cobscook Bay State Park (both places I’ve been before, but Erik has not). Camden is about 230 miles and Cobscook is about 370 miles. We’re not sure what we want to do in one day. Ugh, I’m so disappointed. It’ll save us money to not ride the CAT, but it’s going to cost us in days that we could have been in Canada. I don’t know. I have to talk to some people. Boo hoo.

Leave a Reply

