Scoot Commute

NOAA … seriously? Um, no reports about snow?

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2010/01/14

I check the weather in the evening and then again in the morning every commuting day to decide, to scoot or not to scoot. Well yesterday I scooted. There was no mention of snow yesterday. Not from the radio, not on the NOAA site, not on Yahoo weather (yeah, yeah, I know the reports are all coming from NOAA).

I’m sitting in my office yesterday afternoon and I notice the sky is a thick grey. It’s rather dim and dull out, I thought to myself, as I looked toward the window about 4pm. It looks like a snow sky. I IM’d Erik and asked if it was snowing where he was or if he had heard a forecast for snow. He answered no to both questions.

This is New England. I know what a snow-sky looks like, and that grey soup outside my window was a snow-sky. I checked NOAA again, and there still was no mention of snow. OK, I thought, I have a boatload to do and I’m not going to think about this any longer.

4.24 pm
I look out the window and I see stuff floating in the air. Hmmmm. It’s dark in my office (I have mood lighting lamps as the fluorescent overhead lights give me headaches). I get up and peek out the window. Um, that’s snow. It is snowing.

I grab my riding pants, shove my feet into my boots, pull myself into my jacket and neck gaiter, and slam the door behind me. I run over to my assistant’s office and yell in, “It’s snowing. I’m outta here. I’ll see you tomorrow.” I was out of the building by 4.26 (sorry Chuck!).

There was snow on my seat. There was snow on the ground. It was the super-dry kind of snow. The snow that really isn’t supposed to be snowing. But it was. And the streets were sliiiiiiiippery. I took my old route home down Pleasant Valley and onto Dean Street as I figured there’d be more traffic so I’d be riding more slowly. And the extra traffic would have the snow melted off the street.

Normally I would love a ride in the snow. But not commuting. There’s already enough to concentrate about, and it really was different than riding in the rain. It wasn’t a lot of snow, but it was my first time commuting in it. I didn’t like it, and was very happy to get home.

Today it was 30F when I left campus. Balmy! And tomorrow is predicted to be in the mid to upper 40s! I can wear shorts!

Leave a Reply

