Scoot Commute

14 degrees & a Red Vespa

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2010/01/11

It was 14F when I headed out this morning (according to Bob Seay on WRNI). Scoot didn’t want to start this  morning (last time I rode it was Thursday as it was snowing Friday morning), but I kicked, kicked, kicked and pressed, pressed, pressed until it roared to life. Erik was kind enough to wait until it was certain I was going to ride (if he took my car, what was I to do?!). I managed to squeeze by Berto’s car in the driveway, skating on the ice, and headed in to work.

Having crossed over Atwell’s at Eagle Square, in the lead and headed toward the 4-way blinking light onto Valley, the sun glint off a white spherical object. Are my eyes deceiving me? Is that really ANOTHER SCOOTER out in this weather? Are you fricking kidding me?! My eyes did not deceive me as a shiny red (modern) Vespa being piloted by a white helmeted rider approached from the opposite direction on Eagle Street (ps…white helmet = very visible). I was so shocked, and so happy, I raised my arm, Gerbing’s heated glove-encased fist, pumping the air triumphantly. Who the hell else in their right minds (yes, to be determined) is out riding a two-wheeler in 14 degree temperatures. Only scooter people. No wonder the real motorcyclists make fun of us ;)

Helmet nod to you, my friend. You are always welcome at my table.

I parked in my Vespa spot on campus (see summer posts) as the snow still hasn’t melted in my regular spot.

No issues starting up tonight, and a calm ride home. The only bit of idiocy, and you know there had to be some, was the guy who was trying to be nice to let the SUV make a left from Wesleyan onto Broad Street. The SUV guy was apparently asleep at the wheel and only made his attempt after we got the green and cars were coming from the opposite direction to side-swipe him. We all had to wait behind the “nice guy” until the path cleared and the SUV made his left. Don’t make me use my brakes if I don’t have to. I plan ahead and slow when I see a light, and wouldn’t have had to come to a complete stop if you had just followed the traffic rules and proceeded when the light turned green. SUV guy lost his chance; move on. Yah, Broad Street. No license, no registration, no insurance.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Effie Berry said, on 2010/01/12 at 4:14 am

    Hi, great post! I really like it.
    Thanks for posting it.

    Let me quote my fav part:
    The SUV guy was apparently asleep at the wheel and only made his attempt after we got the green and cars were coming from the opposite direction to side-swipe him.

    Effie


Leave a Reply

