Scoot Commute

Minus 8 Fahrenheit

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2009/12/29

That’s right…just rode in -8F with the windchill (14 above). That’s -22 in Celsius. Brrrr. I ain’t gonna lie; I was cold. The scoot didn’t want to start after sitting all day. I pressed the electric start and got a weak little attempt at starting. I kicked a few times then pressed the start. It turned over but died almost immediately. Did this (kick-kick-kick-press-throttle)  several time and finally got it going. I held the throttle open until it settled down.

I rode to Home Depot and to the post office (always gotta ship out my eBay packages). A postal worker walking by as I was gearing up commented “You’re brave to ride in this.” I nodded, held up my hands, and mumbled “heeeeeeated”.

Going through downtown the Buddy’s engine kept feeling like it wanted to crap out so I fed it at each red light (of which there were many, naturally). Scooting down toward the Jewelry District on whatever that street is called where all the entrance ramps are closed off, a white van with ‘Providence Urban League’ written across the back did the best they could to bully me off the street. Traffic was backed up at the light by the Hess in Davol Square, but I was able to scootch by the traffic and take a quick right up a side street. Take that Urban League van…I’m sure I beat you by minutes back to the ‘hood.

I do think it’s gotten too cold to ride. Maybe I’ll take the Fit tomorrow. Brrrr.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Victor Kelly Sr said, on 2010/01/03 at 5:47 pm

    Great site. Enjoyable to visit — found you on Modern Buddy. You might enjoy visiting mine here on WordPress — Happyoldscoot.wordpress.com. I poke a lot of fun at myself as an old guy picks up two-wheeling again after 30 years out of the saddle.


Leave a Reply

