Scoot Commute

Two orange cones?

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Campus, Daily Commute, Parking by sbahn on 2009/10/17

Yesterday was ridiculously, stupidly, insanely cold for the middle of October. Oh, and it was raining. Thanks!

I walked over to the garage with Erik in the morning and as I was getting on the Buddy, I realized I had forgotten my fleece neck tube thingey. He said he’d run back and get it, but I said nevermind as my commute is short (3.1 miles) and I was wearing the AST which has a really high collar that actually stays closed.

Well, I was wrong. Next time Erik offers to bop across the street to retrieve any item of clothing to keep me warm, accept the offer.

A miserable commute. Coldy McCold. But now for the shocker. I pull into the gate on campus and look over to my spot. One orange safety cone is no longer enough, apparently.

Franz Biberkopf on campus surrounded by safety cones

Franz Biberkopf on campus surrounded by safety cones

The guys have set up two of them. And…ready…there was another scooter parked next to my normal spot. A red chinascoot. Who, who are you? Beautiful, sunny days and I’m the only motorized two-wheeler on campus. Crisp fall days that turn into warm afternoons and I’m the only motorized two-wheeler on campus. Who are you and why did you pick a crazy 35 degree, rainy morning to come to campus? And thank you for not parking in my spot. Whoever you are, pat on the back, thumbs up, rock-and-roll.

Leave a Reply

