Scoot Commute

Look Once, Save a Life

Posted in BMW R75/5 (Mackie Messer), Gear Review, Killer Cagers by cheesebot on 2009/09/22

I lowsided at low speed (15-20mph) going to fill up the BMW with gas this morning after a woman pulled out in front of me without looking or signaling leaving me no room or time to get out of her way.  The only option was to brake hard and go down.  She saw me fall and took off but three guys came back to me with her plate number and vouched to be witnesses and make sure I was okay.  I was pissed but unhurt thanks to my gear which had done its job.

Police report was filed (cop was a rider so he was cool and took the woman’s info down understanding that she caused me to fall) and insurance company was contacted (we’ll see what happens).

Here’s a pic of the bike BEFORE the accident:

1971 BMW R75/5

null

Damage to bike:

Handlebars look bent to me:
null

Exhaust dinged:
null

And the worst, valve cover and innards knackered:
null

Not shown: seat bracket broken small tears in seat, battery tray broken, cracked GPS Ram Mount, throttle stuck and unknown internal mechanical and suspension damage.

Damage to me:

Lightly skinned knees, and a bruise on one hand.  I was wearing all gear except pants – pants would’ve saved me from the skinned knees.

Helmet, HJC Symax II, chinbar stayed shut, helmet did its job:
null

Jacket, Rukka Steel, I had to search to find out where it hit (left elbow):
null

Boots, SIDI Strada, no pics but I just have a scrape on the toe of the right boot.

Gloves, Teknic leather gauntlet type things, just the heel pad of the right one is scraped a bit.

It’s weird that the left elbow of my jacket and the right side of my helmet got scraped so I must have rolled while sliding.  I pushed the bike home (I was close enough) and had some coffee.  This is what I get for trying to get stuff done early before going to work.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. polianarchy said, on 2009/10/13 at 2:23 pm

    Yikes! Just now catching up on missed blog posts. I’m so glad you’re okeh! Too bad about the BMW. I hope she or her insurance pays for the damage done.

    • sbahn said, on 2009/10/14 at 1:24 pm

      Erik’s insurance company has been excellent…we had a check cut in less than 2 weeks for both damage to bike and a new helmet. I’m curious if they’ll go after the woman’s insurance company, or just chalk it up to our, ahem, diverse neighborhood. I wouldn’t be surprised if the car driver didn’t have a license or insurance. And he’s doing much better…came home after the accident to ride a bike to work, but I made him stay home the day after.

  2. Stolen DRZ400SM « Scoot Commute said, on 2012/08/12 at 5:07 pm

    […] went. Turns out, it was Officer Rod Soares, the dude who did the report when the boyfriend was in a hit-and-run on his BMW R75/5. The scary part was, he remembered us. At least it’s not for being […]


Leave a Reply

