Scoot Commute

Wednesday is a Fleece Day

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2009/09/02

Well, it was bound to happen sooner or later, but this soon? It’s September 2nd?!

I rode in yesterday morning and brrrrr, it was cold even with my Corazzo. It didn’t help that I was wearing linen pants and a thin dress blouse, but I had to look halfway decent as I was teaching most of the day.

To relieve the stress that is the beginning of school and to get my head back on straight from a day-long orientation for new faculty, I took a long ride before going home. I went down to Allens Avenue and rode along the water near the yacht club. I then cut across and down through Pawtuxet Village. I can never live in Pawtuxet because I don’t jog. I have never seen so many joggers in my life (and I lived in New York!); ones with dogs, ones in groups (obviously track team high schoolers), ones with those expensive Hamptons-style baby carriages with the three motocross-like wheels, ones with iPods, ones with sweatbands even!

I took the long sweeping road along the bay and the weather was perfect. The sun wasn’t blinding me, the chill wasn’t too bad, and the cars were respectful. I turned around in the dead-end street by the BMW guy, and headed back in the same direction. I was going to cut through Roger Williams Park on the way back (via Park Ave then onto Elmwood Ave), but I was getting tired and wanted to get home, so thought battling the unpredictable traffic on Broad Street was a better option.

Getting ready this morning, and I knew it was going to be quite a day on campus, I pulled a green fleece on over my blouse and then my pink Corazzo on over that. It’s always a sad day when the layering starts, but the weather the past week has been very unusual. I am not complaining! It’s been in the mid-50s in the morning and warming up to the mid-70s during the day. It’s about damn near perfect, but still, I know that the fleece jacket is just the beginning. By November I’ll be a mini Michelin woman.

Leave a Reply

