Scoot Commute

Between the raindrops

Posted in Buddy St. Tropez (Franz Biberkopf), Daily Commute by sbahn on 2009/03/30

Monday: Grey, dreary morning with wet streets and the threat of more to come. Not that I like riding in the rain, but I do get to wear my coolio Providence Police hi-viz jacket; and I wanted to try out the rain-proof-ability of the new Ballistics.

No rain this morning and now there are not one, but two thick metal plates on Dean Street by the police station.

I’m thinking to myself throughout the day, “where is this bloody rain that Gary Ley predicted?”. Then, around 2pm, the skies open up and there’s a torrential downpour. Ugh, I don’t want to ride home in that.

By the time I’m getting ready to leave, the rain has stopped and the tarred bits around campus look fairly dry, so I’m thinking, the streets are probably halfway decent and I would like to go on a ride. I don the Ballistics  and pull away as a few drops are falling here and there. Nothing, really, sorta like the lamest attempt at raining you’ve ever seen.

I head in the opposite direction of home, toward Charles Street, and down North Main. It’s a bit chilly, but I’m warm and dry. I arrived home about 10 minutes later than normal, so either I left the office early or the ride wasn’t really that long. Regardless, none of the cats bothered to greet me at the door.

Leave a Reply

